GSA Elections

Your Vote, Your Society- Vote by July 1!

The Call for Nominations has closed, and the Governance Committee has finalized the 2-person slate for Board of Directors and Section Leadership. Elections are open June 11-July 1.   

How do I vote? 

Elections are held June 11-July 1, 2019, 11:55pm, EST.  Online ballots and instructions were sent on June 11 via email.  

Candidate Information 

The 2019 Election Guide contains all biographical sketches and statements for the candidates listed below. 

Who votes?

All members of GSA in good standing as of June 10.  Members must have a valid e-mail address.  Members who have unsubscribed from previous votes in the online voting platform will not receive a ballot. Member types eligible to vote: 

  • Regular members
  • Student members
  • Transitional members
  • Undergraduate members
  • Emeritus members
  • Retired members
  • Academy representatives

Nominations Closed

The call for online nominations and self-nominations for Board Member and section vice chair positions opened on April 3 and closed on April 17. Read the Nominations Guide for more information about the descriptions, duties, and requirements of these elected positions.

GSA Board of Directors Slate (society-wide elections) 

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. 


Terri Harvath, PhD, RN, FAAN, FGSA 

James S. Powers, MD, FGSA 

Board Member Position 1 (one-year term) 

Kevin E. Cahill, PhD 

Karen A. Roberto, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE 

Board Member Position 2 (two-year term) 

Nancy P. Kropf, PhD, FGSA 

Sheryl Zimmerman, PhD, FGSA 

Board Member Position 3 (three-year term) 

Holly M. Brown-Borg, PhD, FGSA 

LaDora V. Thompson, PhD, PT, FGSA 

Board Member Position 4 (one-year term) 

Marilyn R. Gugliucci, MA, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE 

George A. Kuchel, MD, FGSA, AGSF 

Board Member Position 5 (one-year term) 

Tetyana Pylypiv Shippee, PhD, FGSA 

Ishan C. Williams, PhD, FGSA 

Board Member Early Career Position (two-year term) 

Lisa A. Juckett, MOT, OTR/L, CHT 

Catheryn S. Koss, JD, PhD 

GSA Section Leadership 

Candidates are listed in alphabetical order. 

Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education Chair 

Dana Burr Bradley, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE 

Joann M. Montepare, PhD, FGSA, FAGHE 

Behavioral and Social Sciences Section Chair 

Steven M. Albert, PhD, MS, FGSA 

Debra Umberson, MSW, PhD, FGSA 

Biological Sciences Section Chair 

Viviana I. Perez, PhD, FGSA 

Blanka Rogina, PhD, MS, FGSA  

Emerging Scholar and Professional Organization Chair 

Jacquelyn A. Minahan, MA 

Danielle A. Waldron, MS 

Health Sciences Section Chair 

Debra Bakerjian, PhD, APRN, FAAN, FAANP, FGSA 

Christine Mueller, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN 

Social Research, Policies, and Practice Section Chair 

Debra Dobbs, PhD, FGSA 

Deborah P. Waldrop, PhD, MSW, FGSA 

Please direct all questions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Share This Page!

Print Page